Skilled Lisle DUI Lawyer

Our Lisle DUI Lawyers Will Aggressively Protect Your Rights

If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI, we’ll do everything possible to help you avoid a conviction. A Lisle DUI lawyer at Wolfe & Stec knows how the system works and can help you combat these charges and have them lowered or dismissed. We will handle all the legal aspects of your case and be there to aggressively fight for your rights and your freedom.

Being charged with a DUI (driving under the influence) in Illinois means facing serious consequences that may include suspension of your license, fines, and a jail sentence. If this is not your first drunk driving arrest, you may be charged with felony DUI. In addition, your insurance premiums will rise, and you will have a criminal record that may forever affect your education, job, housing possibilities, and your family and social relationships.

This is not something you should take lightly.

DUI circumstances vary greatly, so we provide a free consultation to discuss what happened to you and determine the best way to help. Call Wolfe & Stec at 630-305-0222 today to speak with one of our DUI lawyers.

What Is a DUI in Illinois?

Our Lisle DUI Attorney Is Here to Answer All of Your Arrest Questions

According to Illinois statutes, you can be arrested for a DUI if you are operating a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol, other drugs including cannabis (marijuana) even if prescribed for medical purposes, and illegal substances, intoxicating compounds, and methamphetamine.

Illinois has an Implied Consent Law, which means that anyone driving is considered to have agreed to provide a breath, blood, or urine sample if stopped by an officer due to probable cause. You may be considered to be under the influence if:

  • A test shows a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or more
  • You have used any illegal substance or are impaired by medication
  • You have a THC level of 5 nanograms or more per milliliter of whole blood.

For drivers under the age of 21, there is zero tolerance for alcohol — any amount in the blood can lead to a DUI, with some exceptions.

What Happens if You Are Stopped for a DUI?

We’ll Review the Evidence to Challenge Your Drunk Driving Test

You may be stopped by a police officer at a roadside safety check or for probable cause, reasonable suspicion, or unusual operation. If the officer suspects you are driving drunk or driving while high, you will be asked to take field sobriety tests. If the tests show probable cause, you will be arrested, taken to the police station, and asked to submit to chemical testing.

If you either refuse or fail testing, your driver’s license will be suspended automatically. If you are under 21 years old and refuse to submit to a BAC test on your first violation, your license will be suspended for six months, and for two years for a second offense.

Types of tests for a DUI include:
1) Preliminary Breath Tests – If your reading is over .08, you will be placed under DUI arrest and made to take a more accurate chemical test.

2) Field Sobriety Tests, including:

  • The horizontal gaze nystagmus tests to look for involuntary jerking of the eyes that often occurs when someone is intoxicated
  • The walk-and-turn test and the one-legged-stand test for balance and coordination.

These tests are not 100 percent accurate, and if not administered or interpreted properly, your DUI defense attorney in Lisle can have them excluded.

3) Chemical Blood or Urine Tests

These tests are administered by licensed medical professionals at a medical facility and must be collected, labeled, sealed, and authenticated in the presence of a law enforcement officer. Blood and urine tests can be challenged in court depending on how they were administered.

Our Lisle attorneys are skilled at discovering the best defenses in drunk driving cases. We will fight for you. Call us at 630-305-0222.

Drunk and Drugged Driving Penalties Are Tough

Our Seasoned Lisle DUI Lawyers Will Fight to Get Your Charge Reduced

Illinois has tough penalties for drunk and drugged driving offenses, depending on the circumstances and whether this is your first or a repeat offense. If you’re accused of driving hammered or while using drugs, you need skilled legal support, particularly as the penalties get steeper with multiple offenses. Our Lisle DUI attorney at Wolfe & Stec will help you get the best possible outcome.

1. First Offense — This is a Class A misdemeanor, unless there are injuries, when it may become a felony. A first-time offender faces:

  • Up to a year of jail time
  • Up to $2,500 in fines
  • A minimum of one-year license suspension
  • Having a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) with a camera unit installed on their vehicles.

2. Repeat offenses – For second offenses, license suspension is increased to five years, and you may almost certainly face jail time and fines.

A third DUI becomes a felony, with three to seven years in jail, up to $25,000 in fines, and license suspended for a minimum of ten years.

A DUI may become a felony punishable by more than a year in jail if you have past traffic convictions or if you were driving without a valid driver’s license. A Class 4 felony conviction may result in imprisonment of 1-3 years and fines of up to $25,000.

With the possibilities of jail time and large fines, the stakes are high if you have multiple DUI convictions. If you’re facing charges for a repeat drunk driving or high driving offense, talk with our DUI lawyer in Lisle to get skilled legal support and learn your options.

3. Aggravated DUI – A DUI becomes an aggravated DUI if:

  • You were driving without a license or insurance
  • You caused bodily harm to a minor under 16
  • You caused injuries while driving through a school zone
  • You were driving a school bus with at least one passenger under 18.

For an aggravated DUI with multiple deaths that is a class X felony, you could be imprisoned for 6-30 years and receive fines of up to $25,000.

Rather than risk your future by facing the justice system alone, contact a DUI attorney at Wolfe & Stec for help. We will stand by your side in the justice system. Call us today at 630-305-0222.

Call a DUI Lawyer in Lisle for Help

Having a DUI lawyer in Lisle can make a major difference in how your case resolves. Our Wolfe & Stec attorneys can help by making sure you are prepared to go to court, file proper forms, and complete requirements such as alcohol education or treatment programs. We can get you off if you weren’t drinking but failed the field sobriety or breath test.

We know the system and will look for prosecutor mistakes and reasons test results can be excluded, such as irregularity in the chain of custody of samples or if an officer pulled you over without probable cause.

Call our DUI attorneys in Lisle at 630-305-0222 for a free initial consultation to talk about the circumstances of your DUI so we can find the best way to move forward.

Recent Defense Results

After the police broke into our client’s house, we successfully suppressed the evidence and the case was subsequently dismissed.

Drugs, “Class X” Felony, Intent to Distribute

We have tried many aggravated battery and domestic batter cases. Our most recent success was our client was charged with attacking and stabbing the victim in their home. After conducting extensive discovery, interviewing witnesses, and reviewing all the factors contained in the case, we were able to get the cause dismissed.

Aggravated Domestic Battery

We handle numerous first and repeat DUIs and have excellent success in acquittals or reductions of charges with minimum impact for our clients. As members of the NACDL, we have numerous expert witnesses available to rebut the vast resources of the prosecution and receive favorable rulings.

DUI
Woodridge Illinois Law Firm

3321 Hobson Road, Suite B
Woodridge, IL 60517
Phone: 630-305-0222

1 North LaSalle Street, Suite 4200
Chicago, IL 60602
Phone: 312-388-7882

Contact Us

    © copyright 2021 - Wolfe & Stec LTD, Woodridge IL. All Rights Reserved. Dupage County Lawyers
    Privacy Policy | SiteMap