13 Nov Registering as a Sex Offender in IllinoisPosted in Sex Crimes
Sex crimes are taken very seriously in Illinois. Individuals convicted of sex crimes are often required to register as sex offenders in the state, depending on their criminal conviction. Being on the sex offender registry often carries a stigma, and offenders face many restrictions in their daily life after being released from prison.
Registering as a sex offender can be a complicated process for some individuals, especially if they were just released from prison. It is important for convicted offenders to understand sex offender laws in Illinois as they can face serious consequences if they fail to follow sex offender registry guidelines.
What should convicted sex offenders know about sex offender laws in Illinois? One of the most important things to know is when and how often you will have to register as a sex offender.
Convicted sex offenders are required to register in person every year for 10 years. The time period for registering as a sex offender starts upon conviction for those on probation. For offenders sentenced to prison, the time period starts when they are released, discharged or serve final parole.
Offenders labeled as sexually dangerous, sexually violent or as a sexual predator under Illinois law are required to register for the rest of their lives every 90 days.
Registered sex offenders who violate the state’s Sex Offender Registration Act will be required to register every three months for the remaining duration of their 10-year period if they are not already required to register for the rest of their life.
In addition to registering every year or every 90 days, offenders are required to notify law enforcement when they move within three days of moving. Offenders are required to notify both their current law enforcement agency of the move as well as the law enforcement agency they are moving to.
Information on state’s sex offender registry is public. Individuals required to register for 10 years will have their information removed from the public website after their 10-year registration period had ended.
Sex offender registration requirements can be difficult to understand, but it is very important to comply with all requirements under the law. Offenders who have questions about the registration process may want to contact a criminal defense attorney for help and advice.
Don’t delay — contact us for help today at 630-305-0222 if you have been accused of any criminal charges including drug crimes, criminal offenses, DUI/DWI, elder abuse, felonies, family law, personal injury and more.