A charge of aggravated battery in DuPage, Illinois, is among the most serious criminal charges in the state. The decision to bring an aggravated battery charge means the prosecution is likely looking for significant prison time. Because of the high stakes involved, you need a seasoned DuPage County aggravated battery defense lawyer from the beginning if you are facing this charge.
After an arrest, it becomes you against the state, with its vast prosecutorial resources. Without a robust defense against your charges, you may receive the maximum fines and prison time. Wolfe & Stec has advocated for thousands of criminal defendants in their time of need, fighting the charges against them and working to ensure that they are treated with dignity during the criminal justice process.
If you need effective criminal defense from aggravated battery charges, Wolfe & Stec is ready to fight for you. Our clients benefit from our . . .
Look no further for the defense you need against your charges. Let an experienced DuPage County aggravated battery defense lawyer from our team review your case and determine what options you have moving forward in your criminal case.
Contact Wolfe & Stec to set up a consultation with a DuPage County aggravated battery defense lawyer who can fight for you. Call 630-305-0222 today!
Aggravated battery is an enhanced form of the crime of battery. Battery can be defined as contact that is unjustified and physically harmful or insulting or provoking in nature. With aggravated battery, certain factors make the crime more serious under the law. These factors are known as aggravating factors and include:
In addition to proving the elements of battery, the prosecutor must also prove that the aggravating circumstance existed. An experienced DuPage County aggravated battery defense lawyer is crucial to defending against the addition of aggravating factors.
The state can charge aggravated battery as a Class X, 1, 2, or 3 felony, depending on the circumstances. If charged as a Class 1 felony, the defendant could face one to three years in the Illinois Department of Corrections. For a Class 2 felony conviction, the defendant is looking at between two and five years behind bars. A conviction of a Class 1 felony results in between four and 15 years in prison, and a Class X conviction has a mandatory minimum range of six to 30 years.
At Wolfe & Stec, we defend you from the moment we take your case. It is vital to contact us early on so we can get started as soon as possible.
When investigating your case, we will be looking for evidence to build an effective defense to your charges, such as:
The defense of consent may also be applicable in your case.
Never try to take on the state alone. Trust in experience to get you through this dark time. At Wolfe & Stec, we are with you all the way and will fight to get you the most optimal outcome for your charges.
Your future matters. Call Wolfe & Stec at 630-305-0222 to schedule a consultation with an experienced DuPage County aggravated battery defense lawyer today.
You may have many questions about aggravated battery charges and defending against them. Take a look at these commonly asked questions relating to aggravated battery charges.
What is the statute of limitations for aggravated battery?
Some crimes in Illinois have no statute of limitations, or time limit, such as murder and reckless homicide. However, aggravated battery does. The state has three years to file charges from the date of the alleged crime.
How long will my aggravated battery case take to resolve?
It depends. If your case is settled through a plea deal, it may only be a matter of weeks or a few months. If your case goes to trial, however, it could take months or over a year to resolve.
Will my aggravated battery case go to trial?
Maybe. It all depends on the circumstances of your case, the availability of evidence, and the strength of the prosecutor’s case. With a weak case, the prosecutor will likely want to settle. At Wolfe & Stec, we always fight for the most positive outcome for our clients. If this requires going to court, we will do so.
How much does a DuPage County aggravated battery defense lawyer charge?
Aggravated battery attorneys generally either charge by the hour or charge a flat rate for their services. You can discuss the fee structure for your particular case during your consultation.
Do I really need a lawyer to defend me?
Absolutely. The stakes are far too high in these and other types of felony charges. Representing yourself can lead to the harshest punishments and fines.
If you have more questions relating to aggravated battery charges in Illinois, call Wolfe & Stec to speak with an aggravated battery defense lawyer for answers.
Aggravated battery charges are serious. The state typically seeks significant penalties for crimes with aggravating factors. If you are facing these charges, turn to an experienced DuPage County aggravated battery defense lawyer who can fight to protect your future.
Reach out to a DuPage County aggravated battery defense lawyer from Wolfe & Stec for a review of your case and a consultation. We’ll discuss your charges with you, as well as your options for a defense. Call 630-305-0222 today!
After the police broke into our client’s house, we successfully suppressed the evidence and the case was subsequently dismissed.
We have tried many aggravated battery and domestic batter cases. Our most recent success was our client was charged with attacking and stabbing the victim in their home. After conducting extensive discovery, interviewing witnesses, and reviewing all the factors contained in the case, we were able to get the cause dismissed.
We handle numerous first and repeat DUIs and have excellent success in acquittals or reductions of charges with minimum impact for our clients. As members of the NACDL, we have numerous expert witnesses available to rebut the vast resources of the prosecution and receive favorable rulings.